Skip to content

Crafty Christmas!

December 11, 2009

For many years now I’ve made Christmas cards for my closest family. This year, however, I’ve decided to make them for everyone. I’m hoping to avoid wasting so much money on shop-bought cards that I don’t really like, with a bit of plastic packaging left over afterwards that I can’t really do anything with.

Luckily, I don’t send 100s of the things, so I’ve only had to make about 30. They’re no great artwork, but hopefully the recipients will appreciate that they’re personal and some effort’s gone into them.

By mixing these with e-cards (maybe some charity ones) for more modern-minded friends and business contacts, I think I’ve got the ‘salutations’ part of the festive period covered.

I’ve also just spotted this step-by-step guide to making your own ‘Christmas arrangement’ (sounds a bit grand), which I’d have a go at if we were going to be in our house. I love the idea of making my own Christmas decorations (either using fresh foliage or making longer-lasting ones) and mixing them up with locally handmade items.

Yes, plastic trees and tinsel do remind me of childhood Christmases with their unmistakeable smell as you pull them out of the box after another year collecting dust. But the thought of something fresh each year, and which reflects the plants to hand at that time, is also appealing too. Plus, they can go on the compost heap afterwards!

Photos to be added…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

